The year 10 Rugby League Team Eliminate Andrew Marvell!

[24 Mar 2017]

The year 10 Rugby League Team made up for lax defence with a sublime display of skill, fearlessness and in some cases; genius in attack to win convincingly away at Barham Road.
The match
Brandon Sargeson, Leon Stewart (year 9) and Harry Kingman set the tone for the entire game, doing the hard yards, making tackles and finding passes where others wouldn’t dare. Marvell looked strong in defence during the opening few phases until CRASH! Joe Kennedy twice completed great sets to put Sirius 2 tries up!
Sirius held their lead well with Taylor Eastwood eating up the yards, slipping through defenders like a pumpkin on ice! Andrew Marvell worked extremely hard in defence to keep the lads out when suddenly – BANG! Leon Stewart crashed onto the ball and drove through the midst of the foe to score our third try! Tails up as Sirius entered half-time on top, 3 tries to 1!
The second half started how the first ended, with strong attacking plays and great support from the entire team. Harry Coulbeck returned the ball well with confident aggressive runs. Jackson Barker and Tyrone Whistler made great decisions in midfield to find Leon Stewart who came in like a wrecking ball handing off players like Pope Francis on Palm Sunday!
BOOF! It was Sirius who impressed as the crowed marvelled at the visiting sides’ attacking display. Relentlessly the lads rode flashing blow upon blow resulting in 3 more emphatic tries scored by Brandon Sargeson (x2) and Taylor Eastwood.
In the end the lads win 30-14!
It was hard to pick a man of the match as everyone in the side put in a really good shift, especially in attack, however the team agreed Brandon Sargeson was the stand out player on the field.Alex Dunne (year 9) and Jack Wilson-Grey also had a fantastic game and didn’t miss a single tackle.
Please congratulate the following lads for the great effort:
Jack Bone, Jackson Barker,Harry Coulbeck, Joe Layden, Harry Kingman, Thomas Borman, Joe Burazin, Leon Stewart, Tyrone Whistler, Jack Wilson-Grey, Joe Kennedy, Ben Canvess, Taylor Eastwood, Alex Dunne, Kai Green & Brandon Sargeson (man of the match).
Special thanks to Mr Sherwood for his support with the Team and driving the van!