Year 10 Boys make it through to the Hull Schools Cup Final

[13 May 2018]

The Year 10 Sirius Academy West boys have made it through to the Hull Schools Cup Final with a fantastic performance against a very good South Holderness side. In previous meetings Sirius West have struggled to compete with South Holderness, but their teamwork, work ethic and character were on point as they won the game 26 – 16.

The game started well for Sirius Academy West as they defended two sets of six extremely well and on their own first set in attack they managed to get over the tryline through a great run out wide by Ali Alsheriffe to go in at the corner, which Lewis Wilson converted to make it an early score of 6 – 0. South Holderness however had a really good fifteen minute spell were they scored 16 points unanswered, but the determination of the Sirius side to score before halftime was outstanding and in the last play of the half a pinpoint kick from Lewis Wilson saw debutant Jamie Hope ground the ball. Halftime score 10 – 16 to South Holderness.

The Sirius boys knew that this game was there for the taking, they just needed to see out their sets and the points would come, and within minutes of the restart the impressive Leon Stewart broke through the line and ran almost 60 metres to go over in the corner, 14 – 16. The game was evenly matched for a long period of time, with both sides knowing that the next score would be very important. Sirius were having the better of the play as the game progressed and it was only a matter of time before they got over the tryline with another solo try from Leon Stewart. The game management of the Sirius side was exceptional and they defended so well as a team. They secured the game in the final stages with another try for Jamie Hope, as he followed up a Lewis Wilson precision kick. Final score Sirius Academy West 26 South Holderness 16.

Please congratulate the squad on their outstanding performance, they now face Malet Lambert in the Year 10 Hull Schools Cup Final:-

Lewis Wilson, Kieran Simpson, Jamie Hope, Joe Grant, Ahmed Bela, Tom Wilkinson, Keiran Welburn, Connor Foster, Sam Macauley, Lewis Walker, Alex Dunn, Ali Alsheriffe, Leon Stewart, Ben Godman

Test link

Test link