Year 10 Football boys outstanding in victory

[06 Nov 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 10 Football team produced an excellent display to defeat previous National Cup Quarter-Finalists, South Holderness in the ESFA National Cup. The match was evenly matched up until half-time before Sirius pressure eventually told to see the team pull away to a 6-2 score-line. The team now look forward to a meeting with Wolfreton school in the next round.

The match couldn’t have started any worse for Sirius who conceded a corner kick in the first 30 seconds which was met by the big centre-half who headed in for a 1-0 lead. Credit to the boys who went straight back into the game and showed great attitude to battle their way into the match, and when settled some excellent Football was played. The equaliser was put in by the impressive Chris Brown who caused problems with his pace and power all night. Brown turned provider for the next with a flick on allowing Lukas Mikoliunas to put the ball home for 2-1. On the stroke of half-time an overhead kick levelled the score at 2-2.

The 2nd half was all Sirius, with attack after attack forcing Holderness deep into their own half. When called upon the back 4 of Brandon Leigh, Jordan Wardell, Robbie Hird and Luke Collingwood were excellent with Kieran Bartlett sweeping up any through passes. Wingers Joseph Wood, Kenan Stephenson and Ewan Malton worked tirelessly, constantly turning the full-backs around allowing space for Luke Salas and Callum Magee to control the game from the centre. Brown put Sirius 3-2 up, following in a Salas shot before Malton volleyed home from a corner for a 4-2 advantage. Salas played Brown through 1-1 who did not make any mistake to claim his hat-trick before Salas had the last word with a 30 yard strike which flew into the top corner.

Special thanks to Cosi Basile for driving the bus and supporting the boys.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Kieran Bartlett, Luke Collingwood, Brandon Leigh, Robbie Hird, Jordan Wardell, Kenan Stephenson, Luke Salas, Callum Magee, Joseph Wood, Lukas Mikoliunas, Chris Brown, Ewan Malton, Will Murphy.

Test link

Test link