Year 10 Rugby boys beat rivals St Marys!

[02 Oct 2015]

The Sirius Academy Year 10 Rugby team repeated last season’s Hull Schools Cup Final victory over long-time rivals St Marys College. With the victory, the team took a big step to claiming the Hull Schools Premier League, but know they face a further two tough matches to achieve this. They now look forward to Tuesdays match at Hessle High. 

The match began in a whirlwind for Sirius, with Rhys Purchon, Declan Jackson and Tyler Hackett making good yards forward allowing Mikey Lewis to through a dummy and cross the line for a 4-0 lead. Marys showed their quality and hit straight back to take a 6-4 lead. From here on in for the remainder of the half, Sirius dominated, with Dylan Hepworth causing panic with every carry, Connor Matthews and Lewis dictating play smartly and outwide, Joseph Sedman, Ronan McMahon and Callum Riley defending well when needed. Jackson was next over, using his strength to barge over then adding the conversion before Matthews created tries for Hackett and Jack Arnett to give Sirius a 20-6 lead at half-time.

The 2nd half saw Sirius continue to press forward with Jack Hassard controlling the ruck with authority bringing on Harrison Longden, Purchon and Jackson to make good yards. Jack Scottow as he did all game, continued to link in well from full-back, supporting runs and dealing with any kick threats. Debutant Sammi Tarafedar did not look out of place in his 1st ever Rugby game, carrying the ball strongly. Matthews was next over, dummying through from 50 metres before sprinting away. Marys hit back with two quick tries however Moss claimed a deserved try for his high work-rate giving Sirius a 34-16 lead before Marys closed with a late try to give Sirius a 34-22 win.

Special thanks to Glen Bilton and Rach Gay for their help during the night including the Year 11 team, and to Cosi Basile for driving and supporting the teams.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Jack Scottow, Ronan McMahon, Callum Riley, Joseph Sedman, Sammi Tarafedar, Mikey Lewis, Connor Matthews, Rhys Purchon, Declan Jackson, Tyler Hackett, Dylan Hepworth, Luke Moss, Jack Arnett, Harrison Longden.

Test link

Test link