Year 10 Rugby boys lose out in tight Hull Cup Final!

[20 May 2016]

The Year 10 Rugby boys lost out to Archbishop Sentamu in a closely fought Hull Schools Cup Final. The boys paid the price for some poor defence in the 1st half which saw them fail to handle the difficult star player from Sentamu and despite their best efforts we would fall just short of a great comeback win.
The Sirius boys started off well with Rhys Purchon, Keane Stevenson and Declan Jackson carrying strongly forward. Sentamu scored 1st with their elusive half-back stepping through for a 6-0 lead. Sirius battled back and neat set up play from Connor Matthews and Mikey Lewis saw Jack Scottow hit the ball at pace and race through the defence before calmly putting Lewis over under the posts with Jackson converting for 6-6. Jack Arnett and Reece Gooch carried well on the right with Callum Riley showing his determination by coming in and taking several carries. Defensively Luke Moss and Kieran Bartlett worked over-time to keep the score level. The same Sentamu player added two quick tries to secure his hat-trick for 18-6 as Sirius struggled with his pace and power. On the stroke of half-time, good play from Matthews saw Scottow get on the edge to send Moss over for an 18-10 score.
Sentamu went over 1st in the 2nd half to push the score to 22-10 with twenty minutes remaining. Bartlett pulled a try back with a smart blind-side play to dummy his way over for 22-14. With ten minutes left Moss spun the ball wide for Gooch to race over to pull the game back to within one score at 22-18. Sirius piled on the pressure with Scottow looking dangerous however the final pass just wouldn’t stick as chances came and went, the boys couldn’t force the clinching try.
Special thanks to Glen Bilton and Rachel Gay for their help coaching the boys and to Connor Mcrae for his support and assistance.
Squad: Jack Scottow, Callum Riley, Reece Gooch, Luke Moss, Jack Hassard (Year 9), Mikey Lewis, Connor Matthews, Keane Stevenson, Kieran Bartlett, Rhys Purchon, Jack Arnett, Dylan Hepworth, Declan Jackson, Matt Wilson, Harrison Longden, Joe Aitcheson (Year 9).