Year 10 Rugby team battle into Yorkshire Cup Quarter-Finals!

[20 Nov 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 10 Rugby League team battled to overcome a tough Minsthorpe school (Wakefield) side to reach the Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup Quarter-Final for the 1st time. Despite missing several key players, the team built their victory from their superb defence, which held firm despite having to defend numerous tackles on their own try-line. The team are now 1 match away from qualification into the Champion Schools National stages.

The match started in blustery, cold conditions which were not ideal for expansive Rugby. In the early stages Year 9 student George Tyson-Wilson, Jon Mills and Matty Burgess led the way forward against the big Minsthorpe pack. Out-wide Callum Magee and Ewan Malton looked dangerous, with Alec Beaumont controlling the game well from around the ruck. Sirius crashed over 1st with good hands from Kenan Stephenson and Lochlan Fitzgerald finding Ray Brown to cross wide out for 4-0. Brad McLaughlin and James Ducker continued to make strong yards forward with Connah Oliver and Matty Taylor working hard to take pressure away from the forwards. Before half-time Ducker was next over, showing great strength to carry two defenders over with him for an 8-0 lead.

The 2nd half saw Sirius rarely get out of their own half, however they showed great team spirit and hard work to repel the Minsthorpe attacks. Alan Britton, Hayden Mortimer and Luke Collingwood came on to continue the hard work from the 1st half. Two good Magee runs created the space for McLaughlin to dance his way through and his pass created an easy 2nd try for Brown to give Sirius a 12-0 advantage. Minsthorpe came back and pressure on the Sirius line eventually told with a crash over try for 12-4. Brandon Butcher and Malton defended strongly for the remaining time to ensure victory with Tyson-Wilson continuing to carry the ball at every opportunity right until the final whistle.

Special thanks to BTEC Sport 6th Form student Harry Brigham, who gave up his own time to assist with the team, in getting water onto the pitch and generally helping out.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Kenan Stephenson, Ewan Malton, Callum Magee, Connah Oliver, Matty Taylor, Brad McLaughlin, Lochlan Fitzgerald, Jon Mills, Alec Beaumont, Matty Burgess, Ray Brown, James Ducker, George Tyson-Wilson (Year 9), Hayden Mortimer, Brandon Butcher, Luke Collingwood, Alan Britton, Tom Greenham, Brandon Eastwood.

Test link

Test link