Year 10 Rugby team into RFL Yorkshire Cup 2nd Round!

[19 Nov 2015]

The Sirius Academy Year 10 Rugby team battled through into the Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup 2nd Round after a hard-fought 20-0 win over Mount St Marys (Leeds) in awful conditions. The game was played in the cold and constant rain, with the Sirius team having too much skill and power for the opposition. The team now move onto face St Wilfreds (Wakefield), a side who the Sirius team have played previously, in what will be a tough game.
Sirius started the match smartly, controlling the ball well in the conditions. Declan Jackson, who was a constant threat to the Leeds outfit, led from the front with strong carries, supported well by Keane Stevenson, Tyler Hackett and Jack Arnett. Half-backs Connor Matthews and Jack Hassard linked well, finding Jack Scottow, Reece Gooch and Dylan Hepworth wider out to make good yards forward. Sirius crossed first with Arnett showing a good fend and speed to race over for a 4-0 lead. Jackson quickly followed, sprinting over from 30 metres out with Scottow goaling for 10-0. The Leeds outfit continued to press with big forwards coming up, however Kieran Bartlett led the way with good defence in the middle with Callum Riley and Samir Tarafedar doing well on the wings to cancel out and dangerous chances. Jackson finished the scoring in the 1st half, dummying to Harrison Longden before crashing over and converting for a 16-0 lead.
The 2nd half saw Joe Kennedy come onto the wing, and he took the pressure off the tiring forwards with some quick scoots from dummy-half. The 2nd half saw some dire spells, with the rain and poor referee control dragging the pace of the game down. One moment of class in the 2nd half saw Matthews and Hassard link-up to put Scottow in the clear who found Hepworth wide out who strolled over to give Sirius their well-earned 20-0 win.
Special thanks to David Gordon for his help with the boys and supporting in the rain!
Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:
Jack Scottow, Callum Riley, Reece Gooch, Dylan Hepworth, Samir Tarafedar, Jack Hassard (Year 9), Connor Matthews, Keane Stevenson, Kieran Bartlett, Harrison Longden, Jack Arnett, Tyler Hackett, Declan Jackson, Rhys Purchon, Joe Kennedy (Year 9).