Year 10 Rugby team into Yorkshire Cup Quarter-Finals

[13 Jan 2012]

The Year 10 Rugby team moved within one match of Carnegie Champion Schools National Cup qualification with a clinical performance and victory over North Halifax Grammar School in the 2nd Round of the Yorkshire Cup. The team produced some excellent tries however their defence was outstanding in keeping the home side to 0 points, and in the end a comprehensive victory. The boys now look forward to a re-match with their rivals Castleford High School, the team who defeated them at this stage last year, however with home advantage this time to Sirius.

The match started well for Sirius with forwards Kai Overton and Liam Platten working hard in muddy conditions, supported well by Benn Arbon whose quick thinking around the play the ball earned Sirius many metres forward. Defensively Rohid Zamani led the way early, with Peter Butcher and Kieran Jones also playing strongly. The opening try came from Jamie Warcup who worked tirelessly all game, sprinting through a gap, with the impressive Liam Harris converting. On the stroke of half-time a clever kick from the excellent Harry Tyson-Wilson gave Warcup his 2nd try with a Harris goal leaving Sirius infront 12-0 at the break.

Credit to Halifax who came out and threw everything at Sirius, who had to defend their own try-line for long periods, however a crunching tackle from Warcup relieved the pressure, and Harris broke through to feed Tyson-Wilson to cross for an 18-0 lead. With Calvin Parker and Louis Carmichael running strongly, and Liam Sigurdsson been ever-willing to take the ball forward, Sirius began to take a hold of the game, with Warcup crossing for his hat-trick before Platten sprinted all of 40 metres to cross for a try and give Sirius a 28-0 lead. There was enough time left for our only Year 9 student in the team Connor Giddings to put George Scottow away who showed his speed to cross and give Sirius an impressive 34-0 win.

Special thanks to Rachel Gay for travelling and assisting with the team.

Please congratulate the boys on their performance and conduct:

Harry Tyson-Wilson, Connor Giddings, Josh Jackson, Rohid Zamani, Liam Sigurdsson, Kieran Jones, Liam Harris, Liam Platten, Benn Arbon, Kai Overton, Pete Butcher, George Scottow, Jamie Warcup, Louis Carmichael, Jon Godwin, Brandon Hepworth, Calvin Parker, Jack Walton, Jordan Borman.

Test link

Test link