Year 11 boys crowned Hull Schools Champions!

[04 May 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team took the 1st step in their quest for an unprecedented Cup treble with a totally dominant display to beat East Hull side, Archcbishop Sentamu in the Hull Schools Cup Final. The boys retained their unbeaten record this year, as Sentamu battled bravely but could not cope with the speed, skill and power of the Sirius side. The team now has two matches left in their Sirius careers, with next weeks Carnegie Champion Schools National Cup Final, arguably the biggest they will have played in.

The game was 1 way traffic, with Sirius spreading the ball well, in between individuals showing their class. Two quick tries for Macaulay Hallett and Jansin Turgut, goaled by Jordan Abdull and Liam Robinson was followed by the try of the half from Will Collier, who received a kick on his own try-line to step through the defence before sprinting away for an excellent try. Two quick fire Hallett tries completed his hat-trick as the opposition could not cope with his speed and power. Lewis Hackett was next over out-wide after good set-up play from Abdull and Josh Wood, with Aiden Armstrong linking in well. The last scorer of the half was the Man of the Match, Stephen Batty who sprinted away from the half-way line to give Sirius a 42-0 half-time lead.

The 2nd half followed the same manner, with Macaulay Longley and Ryan Brown impressing, and it was Brown over 1st, with Brendan McCourt adding the extras, before Collier stepped through for his 2nd try. Abdull showed power to crash over, before Brown hacked through a dropped ball to score his 2nd try, and with the score at 64-0 the referee decided to call a halt on the match.

Special thanks for Janice Hall for driving the team to the match, and for her support!

Please congratulate the squad on their continued success:

Squad: Lewis Hackett, James Buttery, Steven Marshall, Jordan Abdull, Josh Wood, Joe Burton, Macaulay Duke, Liam Robinson, Macaulay Hallett, Liam Bilton, Jansin Turgut, Ryan Brown, Stephen Batty, Jordan Gant, Macaulay Longley, Will Collier, Liam Harris (Year 10), Aiden Armstrong, Andrew Ogden, Brendon McCourt, Liam Gordon.

Test link

Test link