Year 11 brave in last ever Rugby match!

[27 Jun 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team produced a gutsy performance in their last ever match representing the Academy before eventually falling to a close defeat to National Finalists South Holderness school. The team have achieved great success during their Sirius careers, regularly reaching local and county Finals as well as the later stages of National competitions.

The match began with Sirius defying their “underdog” status with Kai Overton, Calvin Parker and Lewis Calvert matching the physical stronger Holderness forward pack. Captain Jamie Warcup led from the front with strong play with Benn Arbon controlling the play the ball area with great skill. Holderness were 1st over for a 6-0 lead however Sirius refused to crumble and half-backs Kieran Jones and Liam Harris who both caused the defence problems all night combined for Harris to send Jones over with Harris converting for 6-6. Peter Butcher, Liam Moss and Liam Platten maintained the forward battle, with Jon Godwin making some excellent decisions wide out in defence. Holderness crashed over on the stroke of half-time for a 10-6 lead.

After a half-time talk, the boys continued their excellent intensity with backs, Brandon Hepworth, Liam Sigurdsson and George Scottow coming into the game and using their speed to push Holderness back. Jones produced a clever kick through for Scottow to race onto and round the full-back to level the scores at 10-10. Year 9 boys Chris Brown, Lochlan Fitzgerald and Kenan Stephenson defied their younger years to cause problems for the defence. Two quick Holderness tries put Sirius 22-12 down and at this point the boys could have again crumbled. Hepworth led the way with a great finish to pull back the score back to 22-16 and Sirius thought they had levelled when Jones when over from a Warcup break only to be denied by the officials. Holderness proved to strong in the final five minutes for a tiring Sirius and two quick tries left the final score at 32-16.

If you see any of the following boys around the Academy or at Prom, please congratulate them:

Liam Sigurdsson, Jon Godwin, Brandon Hepworth, Chris Brown (Year 9), George Scottow, Kieran Jones, Liam Harris, Lewis Calvert, Benn Arbon, Calvin Parker, Peter Butcher, Kai Overton, Jamie Warcup, Liam Platten, Liam Moss (Year 10), Kenan Stephenson (Year 9), Lochlan Fitzgerald (Year 9), Josh Caville (Year 10), James Atkinson.

Test link

Test link