Year 11 Rugby boys complete the trophy set!

[11 May 2016]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team finally secured the only trophy to evade them during their 5 years school Rugby career, as they beat long-time rivals St Marys College in what will be the teams last ever match representing the Academy. The boys who have been an absolute credit throughout their 5 years, have now won every trophy on offer to them, after securing two Yorkshire Cups and last season’s National Cup triumph.
Sirius started the match in fine form, with great attacking structure created by Harry Whittles and Jordan Richmond creating space on the edges for Josh Atkinson to link in. Up-front Kai Thorpe and Connor Cape-Melbourne laid a solid platform with strong carries with Brad Elliott and Jay Kirkland leading the way wide out with some strong defence. With Kieran Sewell doing an excellent job in controlling the game from dummy-half and the ball in wet conditions it was Josh Lomax who was 1st to benefit from the Whittles, Richmond and Atkinson link as he slid over wide-out with Whittles goaling from touch for 6-0. An identical set-up on the right edge saw Luke Moss over with s smart low finish for a 10-6 advantage. On the stroke of half-time Marys claimed a try back to cut the score down to 10-4.
In the 2nd half, as the weather continued to pour down rain, the backs came more into the game with Moss, Ryan Addinnall, Lomax and Callum Wilsher coming in to take work off the forwards. Declan Jackson continued to work his way through a mountain of work in both defence and attack. As the game ebbed and flowed, it was going to take a moment of magic to break the dead-lock and it came from Richmond who received a pass and stepped through the middle of the Marys defence before rounding the full-back for a crucial try, as Whittles goaled for 16-4. Back came Marys with a quick try of their own for 16-10 with Lewis Hewitt and Mikey Lewis coming on to steady the Sirius defence. With time running out a smart play from Whittles saw him create space for Hewitt to dummy his way through and find Thorpe in support who crashed over to seal a 20-10 victory and the Cup!
Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her support with the team, Martin Smith, Cosi Basile, Janice Hall, Shawn Boating for their support and to ex-6th former, Harry Brigham for his continued help.
Please congratulate the following boys on their 5 years of success, attitude and conduct:
Josh Atkinson, Callum Wilsher, Josh Lomax, Luke Moss (Year 10), Ryan Addinall, Jordan Richmond, Harry Whittles, Kai Thorpe, Kieran Sewell, Connor Cape-Melbourne, Jay Kirkland, Brad Elliott, Declan, Jackson (Year 10), Mikey Lewis (Year10), Lewis Hewitt.