Year 11 Rugby team complete historic treble!

[28 May 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team made history on Thursday night as they completed an incredible unbeaten season, to finish their final year as a school team, as Hull Schools, Yorkshire and National Champions. With an excellent performance over long-time rivals Brooksbank High (Calderdale), the team laid their claim to be called the best school team to ever come from the City, and their achievements will be difficult to ever match. As always the boys were a credit to themselves and the Academy, and produced a performance worthy of their final game. As all look to future careers, some in Rugby, they leave with a special bond, something that has allowed them to achieve their amazing successes, which read in their 5 years as a team, 4 Hull Schools Cups, 3 Yorkshire Cups and 1 National Cup victory.

Sirius controlled the match during the early stages with Man of the Match Liam Robinson leading from the front in making good yards forward, supported well by Macaulay Hallett and Jansin Turgut. With Brooksbank struggling to cope with the Sirius speed of play, half-backs Josh Wood and Jordan Abdull took advantage to repeatedly create space on the edges. One such play resulted in Joe Burton opening the scoring out-wide, with Robinson goaling for 6-0. Robinson turned provider next to draw in defenders before popping the ball out to Abdull to cross for 12-0. From the kick-off the strong-running Hallett broke through the defence, and found Wood in support who raced away from 50 metres to put Sirius 18-0 up. Against the run of play Brooksbank pulled a try back, however an Abdull chip over was collected by Hallett who rounded the full-back for a half-time lead of 24-6.

The 2nd half was filled with yet more superb Sirius skill, and Brooksbank could find no answer to the speed of play. 1st over was a deserving Robinson after a Macaulay Duke kick bounced into his arms, before Turgut scored a much-deserved try, again off the back of excellent set-up play by Wood and Abdull. With Sirius in total control, the likes of Aiden Armstrong and Will Collier continually made good yards forward, and space was made for James Buttery to sprint away and cross out-wide before the final Sirius points were registered by Hallett whose speed and strength tore through Brooksbank again to leave Sirius 46-6 winners and claim their treble.

Special thanks to all staff who supported the boys and in particular to Janice Hall for driving the bus and allowing staff to support- It was much appreciated.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Squad: Lewis Hackett, James Buttery, Steven Marshall, Jordan Abdull, Josh Wood, Joe Burton, Macaulay Duke, Liam Robinson, Macaulay Hallett, Liam Bilton, Jansin Turgut, Ryan Brown, Stephen Batty, Jordan Gant, Macaulay Longley, Will Collier, Liam Harris (Year 10), Aiden Armstrong, Andrew Ogden, Brendon McCourt, Liam Gordon.

Test link

Test link