Year 11 Rugby team into Yorkshire Cup QFs!

[25 Nov 2015]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team returned to action in terrible conditions in Bradford, as they attempt to become the first boys side ever from the Academy to win two Champion Schools National Cup competitions. The team did what was needed on a “mudbath” of a pitch with several places covered in standing water. They now face local rivals, St Marys College in a game which will see the winners qualify for the National Cup stages whilst the losers will miss out.
Sirius started the match, going up a steep slope, with the middle of the pitch quickly turning into a mud heap. As usual forwards George Tyson-Wilson, Kai Thorpe, Jay Kirkland and Brad Elliott began getting through a mountain of work, with half-backs Jordan Richmond, Mikey Lewis and dummy-half Kieran Sewell distributing the ball well in awful conditions. Buttershaw raced over first to take a 6-0 lead. Sirius however soon bounced back with Josh Jarvis a threat throughout, with Josh Atkinson linking in well to make excellent yards forward. Quick hands from Richmond and Thorpe found Jarvis wide out to pull the score back to 6-4. Out-wide Jacob Smith, Ryan Addinnall and Callum Whilsher were working hard, helping out the forwards with Connor Cape-Melbourne adding impact from the bench. Richmond popped Jarvis through a gap to race away for his 2nd and Thorpe’s goal put Sirius 10-6 up. On the stroke of half-time Jarvis grabbed his hat-trick after showing yet more brute strength and speed for a 14-6 advantage.
The 2nd half saw Sirius going downhill but the pitch had turned into a real quagmire, which nullified any quick play opportunities. Tom Jordan, Declan Jackson and Lewis Hewitt entered the fray to add extra energy into the Sirius play. The 2nd half saw countless mistakes and slow play from both sides, with Richmond providing the only score of the half, stepping clear from 20 metres to sprint through with Thorpe goaling for a 20-6 victory for the boys.
Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her help with the team.
Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:
Josh Atkinson, Callum Whilsher, Ryan Addinnall, Josh Jarvis, Luke Moss (Year 10), Jordan Richmond, Kai Thorpe, Kieran Sewell, Jay Kirkland, Brad Elliott, Declan Jackson (Year 10), George Tyson-Wilson, Jacob Smith, Connor Cape-Melbourne, Tom Jordan, Harry Knight, Josh Lomax, Mikey Lewis (Year 10), Lewis Hewitt.