Year 11 Rugby team through to Hull Schools Final!

[12 Apr 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 11 Rugby team won through to the Hull Schools Final after winning both of their games in the West Hull schools qualifying competition. The boys have now earnt the right for their last ever school match to be the Final against arch-rivals South Holderness, a team who have won this competition in every year since Year 7.

The first match of the competition saw Sirius up against Wolfreton. Led in defence by Lewis Calvert, Jon Godwin and Jamie Warcup, the boys refused to let their opponents make any yards forward. In attack Year 10 student Liam Moss and Kai Overton made in roads with strong carries. Warcup was first over after an excellent solo try, before the excellent Liam Harris raced over from 60 metres out, with Brandon Hepworth completing the first half scoring, sprinting away from 80 metres, with three Harris goals for 18-0. Warcup was 1st over in the 2nd half, before Year 9 Chris Brown hit a great line and scored outwide for 28-0. Credit to Wolfreton who scored twice late on for a 28-12 scoreline.

The second game put Sirius against Kelvin, a team who had knocked the team of this competition last season. In a tough 1st half with no points, the team defended well, with Moss, Overton and Calvert leading from the front, and Liam Sigurddson, Josh Illes and Godwin running well. Special mention to the three Year 9 players who all stood up to the mark, with Brown running stronly, Lochlan Fitzgerald dictating play from dummy-half with good runs and Kenan Stephenson defending and taking the line on well. Benn Arbon controlled the game well kicking intelligently and the first points came off a good dummy from Harris who raced in and converted for 6-0. On the final play Warcup chased a kick and picked up the ball for a 12-0 win.

Special thanks to Janice Hall for driving the bus and supporting and to Cosi Basile for his support.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Liam Sigurddson, Jon Godwin, Brandon Hepworth, Chris Brown (Year 9), Liam Harris, Benn Arbon, Liam Platten, Lochlan Fitzgerald (Year 9), Lewis Calvert, Kai Overton, Liam Moss (Year 10), Jamie Warcup, Josh Illes (Year 10), James Atkinson, Kenan Stephenson (Year 9).

Test link

Test link