Year 7 Football begins with a win!

[28 Sep 2012]

he year 7 football boys got off to an exciting start to their season with a very impressive 3-2 victory over St. Mary’s. Sirius started excellently with Jack Scottow, Mikey Lewis combining excellently down the left hand side to put through Josh Hultum who forced a good save from the Mary’s keeper. This set the platform for an attack minded performance playing some excellent football across the pitch. St Mary’s attack was continuously broke down by the outstanding Dylan Hepworth at the back. Sirius broke the deadlock after 10 minutes with the left side attacking well playing the ball to Scottow who fired home to give the boys a well-deserved lead.

Mary’s then started to dig in and managed to gain possession with only a splitting pass which gave the St Marys attacker to fire the ball home off the crossbar! 1-1. After 5 minutes of a head to head the boys dug deep with a great ball from Tyler Hackett putting Mikey Lewis through to do some great footwork past the defence to slot home in the bottom corner! Sirius was still dominating throughout with only a mistake in the back four including the goal keeper allowing Mary’s to equalise. Going in to half time the boys were never going to give up and knew what they had to do to win the match. They started the second half slowly with Mary’s pushing everything they had to the boys defence, they communicated well to withstand the onslaught. Sirius then caught Mary’s on a break with a great pass from Scottow putting Jay Tennison in to smash the third goal in to make it 3-2. The boys dug deep for the final 10 minutes with some excellent off the line clearances from Owen Chaffer and Dylan Hepworth the lads managed to see it out until the end.

Special thanks to Martin Smith for being part of the team’s success!

Please congratulate the following boys on their fantastic efforts:

Josh Richards
Tyler Hackett
Reece Gooch
Dylan Hepworth
Owen Chaffer
Kieran Bartlett
Joe Sedman
Jack Scottow
Mikey Lewis
Taylor Purdy
Samiur Tarafder
Jay Tennison
Luke Moss
Josh hultum
Alish Bostani

Test link

Test link