Year 7 lose out to late score in Hull Schools Final

[21 Jun 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 7 Rugby team tasted defeat in their 2nd Final of a very successful 1st year as a team in the Hull Schools Cup Final. The team competed well in an evenly fought match against St Marys Sports College, but lack of possession told on the boys as they tired late on to eventually lose out. The team can look back on their 1st season with much pride after becoming the 1st ever team from the Academy to reach the Carnegie Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup Final, competing in the National Cup competition and also reaching this local Final.

The game started with Kai Thorpe and Brad Elliot making strong yards, supported by Josh Lomax and Tom Jordan. With Harry Whittles controlling the game with smart play, and Josh Kirby working hard in defence and attack, Sirius began to pile on pressure. This led to good hands from Joseph Coates to Whittles who sent captain George Tyson-Wilson crashing over with Thorpe converting for a 6-0 lead. Marys bounced back with an unconverted try to cut the lead to 6-4. Sirius continued to throw the ball around with great skill, with Jordan Webb and Josh Atkinson linking in well and making excellent yards forward. In defence, Lloyd Cass and Liam Waudby showed great bravery to continually tackle players who had size advantage on them. Good line speed from Cass forced a Marys mistake and Waudby picked up and raced 40 metres to the line with Thorpe converting for a 12-4 half-time lead.

The 2nd half saw Marys cross early to pull back to 12-8. Sirius again worked their way back into good position, with Jay Kirkland and Kieran Sewell making strong runs, before Whittles played Elliot into space and he used his size and speed to sprint away with Thorpe again successful for an 18-8 lead. With Sirius defending for long periods through repeat sets and a heavy penalty count, Marys went over for two tries to pull the score back to 18-16. Ben Macklin and Harry Knight fought well to try and gain Sirius some possession of the ball however pressure told and Marys crossed with a minute left to win 20-18.

Special thanks to Janice Hall and Jon Flatman for driving the mini-buses, and to Tracy Westmorland and Simon Jewitt for travelling with the teams and supporting / assisting with the teams.

Squad: Jordan Webb, Liam Waudby, Lloyd Cass, Josh Atkinson, Kieran Sewell, Rowan Foster, Harry Whittles, Joseph Coates, Kai Thorpe, Josh Kirby, Tom Jordan, Brad Elliot, Josh Lomax, George Tyson-Wilson, Harry Kinight, Ben Macklin, Jay Kirkland, Callum Whilsher (Injured).

Test link

Test link