Year 7 Rugby boys maintain unbeaten record!

[07 Oct 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 7 Rugby League team maintained their unbeaten record as a team with an excellent 32-22 victory over Hessle High. With a big squad of 23 players taking part in the match, the team adapted well to the changes made throughout and all players produced solid performances against a good opposition. The boys have one last match left to ensure qualification to the Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup.

The match started with Sirius spreading the ball wide at every opportunity with ball-players Dylan Booth, Will Beaumont and Jack Hassard creating plenty of room for Taylor Eastwood, Joe Michael Laden, Harrison Bark and Kai Green. Eastwood was 1st over with good hands allowing him to score with Hassard goaling for 6-0. Hessle hit back for 6-6 before a kick through from the outstanding Ryan Coult created a try for Bark with Lennon Milner adding the extras. Again Hessle hit back for 12-12 before Coult dummied his way over for a deserved try with a Milner goal giving Sirius an 18-12 lead at half-time.

The 2nd half saw Sirius start in devastating fashion to secure their victory. Forwards Jack Wilson-Grey, Harry Kynman and Joe Aitcheson laid the platform with Tom Borman strong wide-out. Beaumont was 1st over after reacting quickest to a loose ball before Hassard scored the try of the match, breaking through and sprinting 60 metres to score to put Sirius 26-12 up. Beaumont was next up with a clever dummy allowing him to waltz under the posts with a Milner kick leaving the score at 32-12 however credit to Hessle who hit back with two late tries for the final score.

Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her support with the team and Janice Hall for driving and supporting the boys.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, behaviour and attitude:

Jack Hassard, Billy Gill, Joe-Michael Laden, Taylor Eastwood, Jack Webb, Dylan Booth, Will Beaumont, Jack Wilson-Grey, Connor Young, Harry Kynman, Kai Green, Harrison Bark, Ryan Coult, Joe Kennedy, Joe Aitcheson, Callum Young, Tom Borman, Harry Colbeck, Ben Canvas, Adam Smith, Jackson Davis-Barker, Lennon Milner.

Test link

Test link