Year 7 Rugby team lose out in National Cup!

[21 Mar 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 7 Rugby team lost out in their last 16 match of the Carnegie Champion Schools National Cup to Wade Deacon (Widnes). Despite a brave effort the boys again came up against some larger individual players in the opposition and also an excellent Rugby team who fully deserved their victory. The boys have much to be proud of thus far, after becoming the 1st Sirius Year 7 team to reach a Yorkshire Cup Final, and will now look forward to tomorrow night’s Hull Schools Cup Qualifying rally.

The game started with a mistake from the opposition putting Sirius on the attack, but strong defence kept out Kai Thorpe and Brad Elliot. Deacon began to move the ball well, and it took good defence from Callum Whilsher and Josh Atkinson to keep them at bay. However Deacon took the lead with a break-away try to leave Sirius 4-0 down. Sirius worked their way back into the match and a cross-field kick from Harry Whittles caused havoc and Whilsher was on hand to pounce and level the scores at 4-4. With Sirius making mistakes, Deacon pressed forward and added two quick tries to put Sirius 16-4 down. On the stroke of half time, good work from George Tyson-Wilson and Josh Lomax created space for Thorpe to crash over and add the extras to leave Sirius 16-10 down at the break.

With Sirius focusing on equalling the scores, again two break-away tries moved Deacon 28-10 infront and put the game beyond Sirius. Credit to the bosy who refused to give in, and with Josh Kirby, Jordan Webb and Whilsher taking the game forward, Elliot crashed through the defence to pull Sirius back to 28-16, however a last minute Deacon try moved them to 32-16 winners in an entertaining match.

Please congratulate the boys on their success this season, attitude and behaviour:

Jordan Webb, Callum Whilsher, Josh Atkinson, Harry Whittles, Joseph Coates, Kai Thorpe, Josh Kirby, Brad Elliot, Josh Lomax, George Tyson-Wilson, Jay Kirkland, Kieran Sewell, Rowan Foster, Joseph Thompson, Jacob Smith, Ben Macklin, Liam Waudby.

Test link

Test link