Year 7 Rugby team maintain unbeaten record!

[25 Oct 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 7 Rugby team maintained their perfect start to their Sirius careers with a comprehensive 18-0 victory over a tough and determined Archbishop Sentamu team. The team played well in difficult conditions, with the cold and wet making handling difficult for all. However the team showed their class towards the end of the match and now look forward to their Carnegie Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup campaign beginning after half-term.

The match started with Sirius displaying some outstanding defence, led by the impressive pairing of Declan Jackson and Keane Stevenson. When in possession Jack Arnett proved a real handful, making strong yards with every carry, and Kieran Bartlett looked sharp around dummy-half with some neat passes. Archbishop had dangerous players around the pitch, and out-wide Tyler Hackett and Jack Scottow defended well, with Joseph Sedman stopping many attacks with strong tackles. Arnett crossed first for Sirius after good work from captain Connor Matthews and Mikey Lewis, giving Sirius a 4-0 half-time lead.

The 2nd half proved tough for the opening ten minutes, with Archbishop pressing strongly, with Reece Gooch, Dylan Hepworth and Jordan Wornor working hard to repel attacks. In attack the fresh forwards in Harrison Longden, Lewis Harold and Rhys Purchon provided good go forward as Sirius worked their way back into the game. The last ten minutes was Sirius’ best spell, with a Lewis cross-field kick landing to Sedman who finished bravely for an 8-0 lead. Next over was the outstanding Luke Moss who worked tirelessly all match, and scored after good footwork for 12-0. With little time left, good play from Jackson, Bartlett and Matthews created space for Lewis to step over and Moss goaled for an 18-0 win.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Luke Moss, Jordan Wornor, Tyler Hackett, Jack Scottow, Joseph Sedman, Mikey Lewis, Connor Matthews, Keane Stevenson, Kieran Bartlett, Jack Arnett, Dylan Hepworth, Declan Jackson, Reece Gooch, Rhys Purchon, Harrison Longden, Lewis Harold, Kain Smith.

Test link

Test link