Year 7 Rugby team qualify for Hull Schools Final!

[04 Apr 2014]

The Sirius Academy Year 7 Rugby League team showed great progress through their matches to eventually qualify into the Final of the Hull Schools Cup Final. The team who were in their 1st matches since their Yorkshire Cup defeat, battled through a tough competition to go through into the Final which will see them face a strong Winifred Holtby team.

The first match of the competition saw Sirius face Hessle High, a side they had beaten earlier in the year but who had clearly improved. Early mistakes put Sirius on the back foot with Harry Kynman, Joe Aitcheson and Dylan Booth defending well. Player of the night, Jack Hassard put Sirius 4-0 up with a mazy run however Hessle responded to go 6-4 up. With Taylor Eastwood, Joe-Michael Laden and Harrison Bark carrying strongly it was Hassard again who sprinted clear from 50 metres out for an 8-6 lead. However Sirius were denied an opening victory in the closing staged with a crash over try for a 10-8 loss.

The 2nd match saw Sirius face the much fancied Winifred Holtby side. Again early mistakes had Sirius on the back foot which saw two quick Holtby tries for a 10-0 advantage. Credit to the boys though who showed great heart to keep in the game with Will Beaumont and Jack Webb using their speed to make yards forward before Hassard and Booth combined to send over Eastwood for a final score of 10-4.

Sirius when into their last match against Archbishop Sentamu knowing only a victory would do to qualify for the Final. The boys continued as they left off in the previous match with strong runs from Bradley Drewery, Bark and Kynman laying the groundwork along with Kye Greens outstanding defence, for Hassard to open up the defence for 4-0. Sentamu hit back to level at 4-4 before Hassard secured victory with a classy try for an 8-4 win, and with results going our way the boys had qualified for the Final.

Special thanks to Martin Smith for his help with the team and to Janice Hall for driving and supporting the boys as well as offering 1st aid.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Jack Hassard, Billy Gill, Joe-Michael Laden, Lewis Hannon, Harrison Bark, Dylan Booth, Will Beaumont, Harry Kynman, Jack Webb, Joe Aitcheson, Taylor Eastwood, Thomas Borman, Kye Green, Bradley Drewery, Jackson Davis-Barker, Harry Colbeck.

Test link

Test link