Year 7 team outstanding in Yorkshire Cup defeat!

[08 Dec 2014]

The Year 7 Rugby team did themselves proud in their Yorkshire Cup 2nd Round match against the much feared Castleford Academy (Wakefield), a school who have an incredible record in schools rugby. The boys in only their 4th ever match together and their 1st against a side from outside of Hull were left to rue a slow start but as the game grew, they gained the respect of the opposition and eagerly await their next match.

The game started slowly for Sirius after a kick to Castleford who quickly found themselves over our try-line for 4-0. A wake up call was needed but it didn’t come as the visitors crossed again, and with the boys 8-0 down in the space of 2 minutes the signs looked ominous. Absolute credit to the Sirius boys who roared back, led by the impressive Ali Alsherife who took about some tough defensive work. This spurred the boys on with Lewis Walker, Leon Stewart and Lewis Wilson making excellent yards with every carry, and Sam McCauley and Joey Barrett causing problems with their elusiveness. Half time came but Sirius lacked the field position to post any points.

With words of encouragement given by Harry Brigham and Mr Rust, the boys carried on with captain Joe Grant and Tom Wilkinson taking the ball up strongly, and Tom Horner and Nathaniel Walshaw on debut, defending well wide out. Alsherife broke but could quite finish off, whilst Harry Blackham also sprinted clear only to be denied. Time was running out and Sirius were pressing, Stewart dropped a try over the try-line and Wilson was held up. Finally pressure told and Stewart barged over for a deserved try for 8-4 but unfortunately time ran out and the boys couldn’t find time to score again.

Special thanks to 6th Form student Harry Brigham for his help with coaching the team and to Shaun Boatin, Lewis Jarvis and Martin Smith for their support.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and effort:

Harry Blackham, Tom Horner, Luke Taylor, Connor Foster, Nathaniel Walshaw, Lewis Wilson, Joey Barrett, Lewis Walker, Sam McCauley, Ali Alsherife, Tom Wilkinson, Joe Grant, Leon Stewart, Ellis Hunter, Sam Smith, Kieran Simpson, Kristian McMahon, Alex Dunne.

Test link

Test link