Year 8 Rugby into National Quarter-Finals!

[11 Apr 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 8 Rugby team moved into the Carnegie Champion Schools National Cup Quarter-Final with a 44-14 victory over Welsh Finalists Cym Rhymi (Wales) in their last 16 tie. The match proved to be the Brad Elliott show, as the strong running back-rower crossed for 7 tries in total, with a mixture of powerful running and good support play. The team now know they must improve as the face either Lancashire Cup winners St Peters (Wigan) or Royal High (Colchester) for a place in the last 4.

The match started with Sirius pushing strongly, forcing the opposition into mistakes. Forwards Kai Thorpe, George Tyson-Wilson and Keane Stevenson started strongly, laying the platform for back Ryan Addinnal, Josh Atkinson and Kieran Sewell to make good yards forward. Elliott started his scoring spree with two quick fire tries, powering through the defence before completing his hat-trick with an 80 metre sprint to the line, with one Harry Whittles goal putting Sirius 14-0 up. Whittles and Callum Whilsher combined well again to send Elliott over for his fourth and a 20-0 lead with the score staying at this thanks to an outstanding try saving tackle from Atkinson before half-time.

Credit to the Welsh side who fought back after half-time, despite the efforts of Josh Lomax, Tom Jordan and Josh Kirby. Three quick fire tries pulled the score back to 20-14 and the game was in the balance. Lewis Hewitt and Joseph Coates came on to inject some pace around the play the ball. Elliott calmed Sirius nerves with his 5th try, before Atkinson supported a break from Thorpe to ensure victory with a deserved try to give Sirius a 32-14 lead after a Thorpe and Whittles goal. Fittingly it was Elliott who finished his outstanding individual game with two tries, supporting Thorpe breaks, to give Sirius their victory.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Josh Atkinson, Jordan Webb, Brett Dorley, Jay Kirkland, Kieran Sewell, Harry Whittles, Callum Whilsher, Kai Thorpe, Josh Kirby, Tom Jordan, Josh Lomax, Brad Elliot, Ryan Addinnal, Lewis Macklin, Joseph Coates, Lewis Hewitt, George Tyson-Wilson, Keane Stevenson (Year 7), Rowan Foster.

Test link

Test link