Year 8 Rugby team beat Yorkshire Champions to reach Nationals!

[21 Jan 2014]

The Sirius Academy Year 8 Rugby team defeated last season’s Yorkshire Cup champions, Brooksbank High (Halifax) in an excellent match. The boys knew they had to raise their game against opposition who last season only lost one school game to the eventual National Cup champions, and they did just that, as they controlled the ball well and defended superbly to record a 20-8 victory. The boys are now into the Yorkshire Cup Semi-Finals and also gain qualification to the Champion Schools National Cup stages.

The match started with Sirius on the back foot, however strong defence from Harrison Longden, Kieran Bartlett and Tyler Hackett kept Brooksbank at bay. When in possession Declan Jackson, Jack Arnett and Reece Gooch made good yards forward. Bartlett sent Arnett over for the 1st try of the match, with Jack Scottow goaling for a 6-0 lead. Brooksbank showed their quality with a try from their best player for 6-4. Sirius responded well with Matty Wilson, Scottow and Luke Moss pushing forward, and quick hands from the impressive pairing of Mikey Lewis and Connor Matthews sent Jack Hassard racing away from 40 metres to give Sirius a 10-4 lead. On the stroke of half-time Jackson made another strong break, and was supported by Scottow who finished well for a half-time lead of 14-4.

Sirius knew the game was not finished and this proved to be so as Brooksbank scored a quick try for a 14-8 score-line. Wingers Callum Riley and Joseph Sedman defended well out-wide, with Jordan Wornor and Harrison Bark adding extra strength to keep Brooksbank out. Dylan Hepworth and Jackson were very strong in pushing Sirius forward and it was fittingly Jackson who was sent away by the Lewis and Matthews combination who crossed for the final try, with Lewis goaling for 20-8.

Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her support with the team and Cosi Basile for driving the boys down to the game.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Luke Moss, Joseph Sedman, Jack Scottow, Jack Hassard (Year 7), Mikey Lewis, Connor Matthews, Matty Wilson, Kieran Bartlett, Harrison Longden, Callum Riley, Tyler Hackett, Reece Gooch, Declan Jackson, Ronan McMahon, Jack Arnett, Jordan Wornor, Lewis Harold, Harrison Bark (Year 7), Dylan Hepworth.

Test link

Test link