Year 8 Rugby team cruise through to Yorkshire Cup stages!

[21 Sep 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 8 Rugby team cruised through their qualification match for the Carnegie Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup. With a reputation as one of the Counties strongest teams, due to their appearance in last seasons Yorkshire Final, the team started their season in strong fashion with a 44-6 victory over a brave Kelvin Hall team. The team will now look to friendly matches over the coming months before they begin their Yorkshire Cup campaign.

The match started with Sirius receiving the kick and working through a good set, with Josh Lomax, Kai Thorpe and Brett Dorley making good yards. With half-backs Callum Whilsher and Harry Whittles combining, the ball was moved to Brad Elliott who showed great strength and speed to race away from 40 metres out to score, with Whittles adding the goal for 6-0. It was the Whittles and Elliott combination again for the next two tries as Whittles put Elliott away for two more tries for a quick-fire hat-trick and an 18-0 lead. Next over for Sirius was Thorpe who barged his way over before adding the goal from out-wide for 24-0. The next try was perhaps the best, with the ball going through seven players before the impressive Josh Atkinson dived over out-wide. With Josh Kirby and Tom Jordan working hard making yards, and Kieran Sewell and Liam Waudby looking dangerous wide out, space was created for Dorley to power over on his debut, with a Thorpe goal for a 34-0 half-time lead.

With many changes made for the 2nd half, Sirius gave debuts to Andrew Walker and Akam Ismail who both worked hard in defence and attack, with Robbie Laughton and Ben Macklin adding energy to the team. Whittles earned his-self a deserved try, stepping away and racing over and adding the goal for 40-0. Credit to Kelvin who then crossed for a try of their own. With Jordan Webb making breaks from out-wide and Jay Kirkland supporting well, it was left to Kirkland to score the final try to give Sirius a 44-6 win.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Jordan Webb, Kieran Sewell, Josh Atkinson, Jay Kirkland, Liam Waudby, Harry Whittles (Captain), Callum Whilsher, Tom Jordan, Josh Kirby, Kai Thorpe, Brad Elliott, Josh Lomax, Brett Dorley, Robbie Laughton, Ben Macklin, Andrew Walker, Akam Ismail.

Next Rugby-

Year 7 Hull Schools Rally on Thursday 20th September at West Hull ARLFC- 4:15pm kick-off.

Test link

Test link