Year 8 Rugby team qualify for Hull Schools Final!

[04 May 2012]

The Sirius Academy Year 8 Rugby team remain undefeated in Hull this year as they won the West Hull qualifying competition to earn the right to play the East Hull Champions, Andrew Marvell for the Hull Schools Cup. In their 1st match since before Christmas, and with several new players, the boys played well in parts, and were always comfortable against last year’s Hull Schools Champions, Wolferton High.

The match started with Sirius on the attack, with James Ducker and Jon Mills leading the way in making good metres forward, supported by Chris Brown and Raymond Brown. With the impressive half-backs of Kenan Stephenson and Lochlan Fitzgerald linking up well, and Alex Beaumont causing problems at acting-half, Sirius looked the stronger team. The 1st points came off a Stephenson cross-field kick which was touched down by Matty Taylor, with Stephenson goaling from out-wide. After Wolferton had levelled through a dubious try, quick hands, saw Taylor in again and Stephenson goaled for 12-6. Back came Wolferton who scored, but Chris Brown was next over after Fitzgerald had dummied his way through the line, however another Wolferton try left the score at 18-14 to Sirius. On the stroke of half-time, Beaumont showed great vision to dummy his way over and another Stephenson goal gave Sirius a 24-14 lead at the break.

Sirius responded well to half-time instructions and came out strong in the 2nd half. Chris Brown was 1st over after he ran a great line of support off the outstanding Harry Hutchinson, before Brown completed his hat-trick with a well worked scrum move, to push Sirius to 34-14 in-front. Sirius continued to battle, with Fitzgerald and Connah Oliver defending well in the middle and Owen Jones-Barker stopping any threats out-wide with copy-book tackles, it was left to Stephenson to dribble the ball through the line to score a deserved try to give Sirius a 40-14 lead. Credit to Wolferton who scored two late tries to pull the score back to 40-22, however Sirius had done enough to go through to the Final which will be played at the KC Stadium.

Special thanks to Janice Hall for driving the mini-bus and supporting the boys, and to Rachel Gay for her support with the team.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success and attitude:

Owen Jones-Barker, Matty Taylor, Raymond Brown, Luke Salas, Kenan Stephenson, Matty Burgess, Chris Brown, Lochlan Fitzgerald, Connah Oliver, Jon Mills, James Ducker, Kieran Bartlett, Sam Ribitt, Luke Collingwood, Harry Hutchinson, Tom Greenham, Alex Beaumont, Sam Wilde.

Test link

Test link