Year 9 go close in Football Semi-Final!

[25 Apr 2013]

The Year 9 Football team went close to an excellent victory in the Hull Schools Cup Semi-Final however they were cruelly denied by reigning champions Malet Lambert. The boys were outstanding throughout the game despite only having the minimum of 11 players, with several key players missing through injury.

The game started poorly for the boys with an early Malet goal putting us 1-0 down after five minutes. However full credit to our 11 who battled back hard and played some excellent football to create good chances, and with more luck they could have put more away. The back four of Brandon Leigh, Jordan Wardell, Luke Collingwood and the marshal of Callum Magee recovered from the shaky start to deny Malet any more opportunities with the ever alert Kieran Bartlett cutting out any through balls smartly. Down the flanks Ewan Malton and Olly Russell caused problems with their trickery and Joseph Wood and Luke Salas worked hard through the middle to cover lots of ground. Two through balls from Russell led to two excellent finishes from the impressive Lukas Mikoliunas to put Sirius 2-1 up at half-time.

With Malet shocked, Sirius struggled to press on in the 2nd half, playing into a strong wind, with Will Murphy working tirelessly up-front to close space down. Malet levelled through a penalty kick and went ahead with ten minutes left. Sirius again showed great character with Salas creating two opportunities with one forcing a good save, and with two minutes left, Sirius thought they had a clear penalty when Salas was tripped, however much to their disbelief the ref waved play on and the whistle went to leave the boys with a 3-2 defeat.

Special thanks to Danny Rouse for taking the boys and assisting with the coaching and to Janice Hall for her continual support and driving the bus.

Please congratulate the following boys on their attitude, character and behaviour:

Kieran Bartlett, Brandon Leigh, Callum Magee, Luke Collingwood, Jordan Wardell, Ewan Malton, Luke Salas, Joseph Wood, Olly Russell, Will Murphy, Lukas Mikoliunas.

Test link

Test link