Year 9 Progress in National Cup!

[26 Sep 2015]

The year 9 boys won comfortably against Havelock from Grimsby in the first round of the National Cup. The boys started with a high intensity playing some excellent passes linking together setting the tone for the match. The ever impressive Jack Tanser won the ball in the middle and along with Gael Nzayadio and Harry Pougher created a passing move which saw Gael free around 20 yards from goal to unleash a rocket in to the top corner. With a similar feature the boys passed around the middle creating space for one another this time releasing Tanser to rifle another top corner effort in. Sirius 2-0.

Half time

Second half is where the lads really turned things up against a reluctant defence from Havelock, however the front 3 of Bayar Ahmed, Jay Mainprize and Ethan Kendall were proving too strong and putting their defence on the back foot, eventually winning a corner which Tanser delivered for the centre back Thomas Stabler to steer home an excellent headed finish.

Bayer was proving too much and a delightful through ball give him space in the box where he showed lovely feet to go past 3 players and play across to the impressive substitute Vladimirs Aleksejevs-Nikolajevs who was generous to pass to Tanser who produced a power shot past the Havelock defence and put Sirius 4-0 up.

Front 3 again proving too much and Bayer played a one two with Jay which Bayer produced a Sanchez-esk finish low in to the corner.

In the final 5 minutes with some tired legs the work horse that was Harry Pougher produced a tremendous piece of skill to loop the ball over the defence to Bayer again finished on the half volley to end the game 6-0.

A massive thank you to all those involved, especially K. Provan for driving the minibus.


Please congratulate the following boys:


1.    Joseph Hill

2.    Ryan Jackson

3.    Jack Hassard

4.    Thomas Stabler

5.    Vladimirs Aleksejevs-Nikolajevs

6.    Jack Tanser

7.    Ethan Kendall

8.    Jayden Robson

9.    Jay Mainprize

10. Gael Nzayadio

11. Harry Pougher

12. Bayar Ahmed

13. Jo Davidson

Thank you again for your continued support,

Danny Rouse and Max Bayston

Test link

Test link