Year 9 Rugby boys retain Hull Schools Cup!

[12 Jun 2013]

The Sirius Academy Year 9 boys Rugby team retained the Hull Schools Cup that they had previously won last season with a hard-fought victory over Andrew Marvell at Craven Park. The boys battled throughout the game and deserved their end victory as they continue to show the makings of an excellent side.

The game started with Marvell pressing forward with attacks on the Sirius line challenging the outside defence with Connah Oliver and Matty Taylor holding firm. A last tackle play which saw Marvell keep the ball alive put them 4-0 in-front. The influential Kenan Stephenson’s kick-off saw captain Chris Brown retrieve the ball and two tackles later Lochlan Fitzgerald created a hole for Year 8 Kai Thorpe to crash over with Stephenson goaling for a 6-4 lead. Marvell bounced back to their credit however Jon Mills and Thorpe worked hard in the middle with man of the match James Ducker causing problems outwide but this didnt stop Marvell crossing next for an 8-6 advantage. With little time left, Fitzgerald and Brad McLaughlin linked up to send Ray Brown through a gap and a quick play the ball gave Alec Beaumont the chance to jump out and send Chris Brown over with Stephenson goaling from wide out for a 12-8 half-time lead.

Sirius started the 2nd half with much more structure and pace, with this rolling Marvell backwards and giving Callum Magee, Ray Brown and Chris Brown the chance to exploit space wide out. In good field position Stephenson produced a clever dummy on the last tackle to jink his way over and goal for 18-8. Back came Marvell with a quick try to pull back to 18-12 with fifteen minutes left. Tom Greenham and Thorpe sent Sirius forward again with Brandon Butcher and Hayden Mortimer looking strong outwide and Magee was unfortunate to have a try disallowed for offside. Stephenson put clear daylight between the sides with a neatly taken drop-goal before he then made the break to send Ewan Malton racing clear to give Sirius their 23-12 victory and the trophy.

Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her assistance with the team and to Janice Hall for driving and supporting with Tracy Westmorland.

Please congratulate the following boys on their success, attitude and behaviour:

Kenan Stephenson, Matty Taylor, Connah Oliver, Callum Magee, Hayden Mortimer, Brad McLaughlin, Lochlan Fitzgerald, Kai Thorpe, Alec Beaumont, Jon Mills, Ray Brown, James Ducker, Chris Brown, Matty Burgess, Luke Collingwood, Ewan Malton, Brandon Butcher, Tom Greenham.

Test link

Test link