Year 9 Rugby team retain Yorkshire Cup!

[06 Mar 2014]

The Sirius Academy Year 9 Rugby League team retained their Carnegie Champion Schools Yorkshire Cup with a solid 14-4 victory over South Holderness (Hull). The team produced an outstanding display of controlled Rugby, and never looked in danger of surrendering their half-time lead. The team in claiming victory become the second team from the Academy to retain a County trophy, and will now turn their attentions to the Carnegie Champion Schools National Cup, were they will face St Peters High (Manchester) in the first round.

The match played at professional stadium, Featherstone Rovers RLFC, saw the Sirius boys choose to play up the slope in the first half. With knowledge of Holderness’s strong running forwards the boys knew defence would be key to success. Led by captain and Man of the Match, George Tyson-Wilson the team were excellent in the middle with Kai Thorpe and Declan Jackson setting the tone with some strong tackles. With the ball Kieran Sewell was outstanding, constantly making 10-15 metres with every run, with the kicking games of half-backs Jordan Richmond and Harry Whittles relieving any pressure. Sirius were first over with good link up by Richmond, Whittles and Josh Atkinson sending Thorpe over out-wide for 4-0. The remaining 15 minutes of the first half were a defensive battle, which saw Ryan Addinnal, Josh Lomax and Callum Whilsher refuse to break out-wide, and with the ball Brad Elliott and Jay Kirkland made hard yards forward. On the stroke of half-time Thorpe was denied his 2nd with a dubious forward pass decision going against the team.

The 2nd half with Sirius playing down the slope, again saw Richmond and Whittles use their intelligent kicking game to turn the ball over deep down the pitch usually off the back of a solid Sewell run. Forwards Brett Dorley, Thorpe and Elliott continued to battle forward with Tyson-Wilson continually taking the ball up and making strong yards. Lomax and Joseph Coates saw plenty of tackling in the early stages but were a match to everything thrown at them. With 10 minutes played the Richmond and Whittles combination worked the overlap for Lomax to score wide-out with Whittles converting for 10-0. A mistake gave Holderness possession near the Sirius line, and they converted this chance to pull back to within one score at 10-4. With the teams tiring, Mikey Lewis and Joe Petty added fresh legs, with Lewis using his footwork well against the bigger Holderness forwards. Connor Cape-Melbourne came on into the middle of the pitch and again made good yards when needed. With time ticking away, the overlap was again worked and Thorpe crashed over for his 2nd for a 14-4 lead. The last play saw Whittles send Elliott over after a great line run but a forward pass was ruled, however the final whistle blew and Sirius were crowned Champions again.

Special thanks to Rachel Gay for her support with the team and to Cosi Basile, Natasha Pearson, David Gordon, Martin Smith and Kate Causier for travelling to the match and supporting the boys.

Please congratulate the following boys on their continued success, attitude and behaviour:

Josh Atkinson, Callum Whilsher, Josh Lomax, Kieran Sewell, Mikey Lewis (Year 8), Tom Jordan, Jordan Richmond, Declan Jackson (Year 8), Brad Elliott, Jay Kirkland, Ryan Addinnall, George Tyson-Wilson, Connor Cape-Melbourne, Joseph Coates, Kai Thorpe, Harry Whittles, Brett Dorley, Joseph Coates, Josh Kirby, Luke Moss (Year 8), Rowan Foster.

Test link

Test link